Barnes & Noble banned my book

I wrote ACAB as a teaser story for my motorcycle gang versus zombies book The Meat Wagon. At the time it was the most violent thing I’d ever written, and I had a lot of fun writing it. It’s about killing a policeman who may or may not be already dead.

Like all my other short stories I gave it away free both here and on various ebook websites. It’s also in the short story collection Tales from the Underclass for people who like to buy such things instead of read them for free. I was originally planning to include ACAB as a sort of flash-forward prologue to The Meat Wagon, but early readers suggested the subject matter would probably put off more readers than it would attract so in the end I just left it as a standalone short story.

But you won’t find either ACAB or Tales from the Underclass on Barnes & Noble. They won’t tell me why either. They do stock The Meat Wagon, which is almost as violent as ACAB. So what is it about ACAB that they object to? The cover? The title? The subject matter? The violence? Something else?

You can read it here for free if you want. But whatever you do, don’t read it on a Barnes & Noble device or the thought police will get you.

http://www.feedbooks.com/userbook/25455/a-c-a-b

BTW, while I was looking to see if anyone else had banned ACAB I came across this little gem. It’s from the Diesel Ebook Store (no I’ve never heard of them either) and it’s one of those “If you like this you’ll like this one too” type things.

Gone with the Wind? While I love the idea of some old granny buying The Meat Wagon expecting it to be like Gone with the Wind and then having a fit when they read it, I can’t really see it helping my ratings much.

 

About Marcus Blakeston

Ex-shouting poet, ex-fanzine writer, ex-angry young man (now growing old disgracefully). Living in sunny Yorkshire with his wife, children and motorcycle, Marcus still has a healthy distrust of all forms of authority.
This entry was posted in Other. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barnes & Noble banned my book

  1. davidantrobus says:

    I’m surprised more people aren’t more curious about this. It’s actually disturbing… and far *more* disturbing than any horror story could be, no matter how transgressive. Oh, I just added your site to my sidebar at the The Migrant Type, by the way.

    • Nobody cares about this sort of thing unless it affects them directly. That’s why the censors always win, if anyone speaks out about it they can just label them as some sort of pervert who likes depraved stuff.

      • davidantrobus says:

        That’s true of everything. I wouldn’t say nobody, though, but certainly most people. Is there some kind of body or agency that investigates this kind of thing? A free speech/civil rights group? I find that this whole “freedom” thing we like to throw around so casually in the west is a lot more complex, shall we say, than it appears.

  2. click says:

    Good Stuff, do you have a facebook profile?

Leave a Reply

